Book Review: Weak and Loved

Book: Weak and Loved

Author: Emily Cook

Recommend: What a tough but amazing journey for this family (and the reader).

I was approached by this author who asked me to review her book. I was a bit nervous about it honestly but decided that reading something by a Christian author, even it if wasn’t that good, was never a bad plan. So I agreed. I’m so glad I did.

Confessions: This author has an amazing blog about her journey. I took a cursory glance at it but didn’t realize what it was about. The book request came in while I was sick, in quite a bit of pain, and on medication. When I got better, I really wasn’t sure what the book was about except I remember something about a health struggle with her daughter.

When I got into it and realized that it was about her daughter’s epilepsy, I was immediately pulled in because I know what living with someone with epilepsy is like. My dad is epileptic. One of my earliest memories is calling 911 because dad was in the middle of a seizure (although his are a different variety than the author’s daughter). While I haven’t personally experienced an epileptic seizure, I definitely know what it is like to feel powerless while a loved one’s brain goes haywire and causes their body to shutdown.

While the topic was immediately interesting to me, what stands out most with this book is her honest discussion about how her faith was tested, shaped and strengthened through the difficulties of the situation. She definitely made me think about how we deal with difficulties in our lives and reminded me that in tough circumstances that it is not enough to know that God won’t give you more than you can handle but to remember that the only way you can handle it is through his strength.

We all have difficult things to overcome and this author helped me remember that God has it. The strength is his – not ours.

For further reading, her blog can be found at http://www.weakandloved.com/. Hurray for three years of freedom from seizures for this little one!!

*The ebook will be available on kindle for free from July 15-19th!!

Final Rating:

Need more than one copy!!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012, Christian, Healthcare, non fiction, Review, Summer book challenge

Leave a comment