Book Review: The Snow Queen

Book: The Snow Queen

Author: Mercedes Lackey

Recommend: It was a fun read but not as good as some of the others have been.

This is the next book in the Five Hundred Kingdoms series and I have been having quite a bit of fun getting through these. I really love discovering an established series like this because you don’t have to wait months or even years for the next book like you might have to if you are reading a series through as they are published. I often find myself not getting to the next book in a series once it does come out simply because I don’t want to be disappointed in the end. However, when you’ve got a handful of books to go through at once, you want to keep reading through like I have been with this set.

This story focuses on the tale of The Snow Queen almost exclusively but it takes it and explains to the reader that we’ve only misunderstood this cold figure. In fact, she is one of the godmothers but she is responsible for one tale and one tale only. She takes self centered brats and gives them exactly what they want until they realize that they don’t want it after all. However when someone begins to do the things that she would never, even if the legends say otherwise, she must step off of her throne and into the story in order to stop the false Snow Queen from taking her place and establishing evil in her kingdoms.

I loved the idea behind this one but I am actually ready for her to return to one of the more familiar tales. While most of these touch on one I’ve heard once or twice, I would find it more interesting if it was Sleeping Beauty or Beauty and the Beast (although I know that one is coming). Even a retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk or The Swan Princess would be good. I just think that she had spent the last couple of books in things that weren’t quite familiar enough for this audience. Although they are fun reads, I think she would do better if they were more familiar ones. Still, I can’t wait to crack open the next one tomorrow.

Final Rating:

Get it free

Get it free

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

