Book Review: Monument 14 Sky on Fire

Book: Monument 14 Sky on Fire

Author: Emmy Laybourne

Recommend: This was interesting but a bit thin in both length and depth of material.

I loved the first book in this series even though on paper it sounded like almost every other dystopian novel I had read. So when I heard about the second book in the series I knew I had to get my hands on it as soon as possible so I put in for a reserve. Well, it came out and I read it and was sadly disappointed. It had nothing on the first book and was a pale imitation.

First of all, the first book was on the shorter side. The second book hardly qualified as a full book. While this definitely furthered the plot, it seemed rushed. The author seemed to have been forced to write this one on a very short timeline or the editor overdid it and cut far too much. I was hoping for a strong follow-up and instead got a pale imitation instead. Not worth the time and I don’t think I’ll be finishing this story.

Final Rating:

Get it free

Get it free

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

