Book Review: Before Green Gables

Book: Before Green Gables

Author: Budge Wilson

Recommend: If you are a fan of the Anne series by L.M. Montgomery this was a fun read.

When I saw this book on the library shelves I may have squeaked slightly with excitement because I am a huge fan of the original series by L.M. Montgomery and always wished that someone else would write more about Anne. I loved Anne so much growing up that I am currently on my third set of paperbacks for the series and am working on getting them all in hardback copies because I read them so often. This book starts with her birth and follows her all the way to her arrival with the Cuthberts.

The author thoroughly understood the source material and made sure to include the key families and locations mentioned through the series. I think that overall the author did a great job of fleshing out the things we simply didn’t know about or only had been hinted at by the author originally.

That being said, there were a few inconsistencies in this book. The most notable inconsistency was Anne’s attitude towards school in Green Gables was very different from her attitude towards school in this book in some ways. Also, her voice just doesn’t feel quite right through the book. The author makes a great attempt at making her sound like Anne, especially at the end of the book, however it isn’t quite right. Also, there were some small things that were missed, like Anne’s attitude towards Mrs. Hammond, which was much more positive in this book than it was in the original series.

This was is definitely a fun read for Anne fans if you can stomach a few small flaws.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Children's book review, general fiction, Review

One response to “Book Review: Before Green Gables

  1. Also, the original Anne series by Montgomery is one of my all-time favorite reads. Somehow I missed it as a child, but found it thanks to my daughter as an adult. It goes down in the fav’s list right next to the Secret Garden.

    Annex is the only book series that ever made me cry when I reached the last few pages of the last book. Tears were because it was the end. Because of the story? Not so much! I was sorry for myself in a grown up’s pity party because there were no more to read. It made me want to go to Nova Scotia myself, the ancestral home of my husband’s family, and walk the roads and fields Anne, and the author, loved so much. That is on my bucket list.

    I will look forward to buying, borrowing or downloading this Anne prequel. Thanks for telling us about it.

Leave a Reply

