Book Review: Dreams and Shadows

Book: Dreams and Shadows

Author: C. Robert Cargill

Recommend: This is definitely not something for everyone.

Okay, I picked this one up simply because it seemed different from most of what I’ve been reading lately. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I was the first reader of the book. How could I tell? The scraps of paper from the pages being cut fell out as I read. While I like old books, there is something cool about begin the first person to dive into the pages of a brand new book as well, especially when it is a library book that will end up in the hands of many others. I enjoy books set in hidden worlds that run parallel to our own and this one is definitely that. However, if you are not a  fan of fairy stories (and I’m not talking the sanitized Disney ones like Tinkerbell), this one is definitely not for you. It is dark and a bit bleak.

The story centers around two boys whose lives have been irrevocably altered by their introduction to this world. Ewan is taken as a baby and is replaced by a changeling. Colby meets a djinn and requests to see all the hidden things in the world including becoming a magician. When Colby saves Ewan from becoming a blood sacrifice, the two boys’ lives are chained together in a series of events that will leave them both changed.

I really enjoyed how flat-out spooky this one was. This is not a happy fairy tale by any means. It actually reminded me a lot of reading The Child Thief by Brom. This one is not for the squeamish or faint of heart though. It is gory and violent. Not children’s fare by any means.

While I really enjoyed this one, I wouldn’t want a steady diet of this kind of book. Read at your risk.

Final Rating:

Get it used...

Get it used…

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

Leave a Reply

