After the Movie: The Book Thief

It has been a while since I read this one but I loved it. I got an opportunity to go to an advanced screening of the movie a week ago and was really excited to see if the adaption would be as good as the book was.

My husband agreed to come with me even though he hates sad movies and isn’t a big fan of books in general. We barely made it into the packed theatre in time, found a seat near the front because it was the only thing left and settled in. I was pleasantly surprised that there were no previews and we went straight into the movie, starting with the death of Lissel’s brother and the burial by the train tracks where she steals her first book. From there it was a whirlwind of emotion and sobering images of their interpretation of Germany during Hitler’s control.

While the whole thing was extremely well done, there were two scenes that stood out for me more than any others. The first was the impact of the way they set the removal of the Jews from their homes. It was harrowing to hear children sing about the joys of the purity of German blood and how evil it was to be Jewish or a Communist but then to set these images of Jews being brutally dragged from their homes against it was horrifying. The ending of the movie also had me in tears. It would have anyway but the way they built up the emotional impact made it more of a tear-jerker than it would have been. I don’t cry during movies but this one made me lose it.

It was not without its flaws of course. There was only so much story they could tell. One of my favorite characters was missing from the story completely and they had to push through some things that I wished they would have spent a bit more time on, but overall, it was one of the best movie adaptions I’ve seen in a long time. Definitely worth the money and one I will be seeing again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book to film

Leave a Reply

