Book Review: The Penelopiad

Book: The Penelopiad

Author: Margaret Atwood

Recommend: Definitely worth a read, especially if you had to suffer through The Iliad and The Odyssey in high school.

Okay, I am a fan of Greek mythology. I find it oddly fascinating that people could believe in this set of self-absorbed petty gods who thought it was fun to mess with the people they ruled over and who had limitations. I found their attitude towards women  appalling in the way you find a train-wreck appalling – so horrible but yet you simply can’t look away.

Due to these factors I couldn’t help but add this book to my bag when I discovered it at the library. I have only read one of Atwood’s other books but I found her writing wonderful to read and that’s saying something considering I started with The Handmaid’s Tale. This book tells the story of Penelope, the wife of Odysseus who went missing for twenty years. She fended off suitors by the truckload and managed to stay true to him over twenty years. Never mind the fact that he was cheating on her every time he had the opportunity.

I found the character quite fascinating in this telling of the story, although slightly inconsistent in the center due to her passivity towards her household while her mother-in-law was alive. I loved the interjections from the author of almost sheer random wanderings on the topic. It broke up the story in an interesting way and get me to think about it from a myriad of perspectives.

Definitely worth a read if you are a fan of Greek mythology.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic Literature, general fiction, historical fiction, Review

Leave a Reply

