Book Review: Infamous

Book: Infamous

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Recommend: Yep. This series is still going strong. I can’t wait to read book number four!

Okay, I have to admit this series has really gotten me excited about reading YA fiction again. I was getting completely burnt out but knew I had to get through this series because it had been sitting on my to be read shelf for what seemed like forever. I now wish I hadn’t waited so long to read them and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book.

In this one Nick is fighting to figure out how to keep himself from becoming Ambrose. He desperately knows that he doesn’t want to be evil incarnate and yet, it was what he was born for. Fighting your birthright is not something that comes easy, especially to Nick. I think the best part of this character is that he makes mistakes – all the time and they are not the predictable make a mistake so the character doesn’t seem too perfect kind of mistakes. No, this character makes huge mistakes and there are actual consequences for them.

I am really enjoying the idea that people are not made up of what you see on the outside. Bubba has to be one of the most complex and interesting characters I have ever read in YA fiction. I would read a book based just on his back story. (Hint hint Ms. Kenyon – not that someone like her would ever read my blog).

I will say that if you have issues with paranormal fantasy, this book might not be the cup of tea for you. We are dealing with all kinds of mythology and Christianity tossed together in a strange mix so this might not be for every teen reader.

The only negative about this book is that there is a point near the end where everything goes a bit wonky for a while and it’s a bit confusing becaus so much happens so close together without a breather in between that it is hard to keep up with and that’s coming from a girl who has no problem keeping track of all of the characters in War and Peace. So , just be warned there might be a bit of rereading involved near the end. Also the minor annoyance of a slight Scooby Doo moment at the end of the book annoyed me slightly because I hate when the random character shows up and their only job in the whole book is to take the fall. Yep. Happens at the end of this one.

Overall a really fun read and I really want more.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

