Book Review: The Gates

Book: The Gates

Author: John Connolly

Recommend: This one is not for everyone… but it might be for you.

Alright, warning everyone now, this is not a book for everyone. This deals with demons and hell in a way that not everyone will appreciate. I would liken this book a combination of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Dante’s Inferno, The Screwtape Letters with tons of sarcasm and snark thrown in. It reads a bit like Neil Gaiman, Douglas Adams and J.K. Rowling sat down and decided to write a book together.

I thought it was absolutely hilarious. I’ve read The Book of Lost Things and I think I liked this one even better, although many who are fans of that one, have said just the opposite. I was planning on putting this one off for a bit longer. I actually own this one but I picked up the second book in the series by accident at the library and figured that now was as good a time as any to get into it.

A bit of a note, this one might be extremely offensive to some because they might feel that it treats hell in a less than respectful manner and there are demons as main character and not all of them are clearly the bad guys.

I hurt my ribs today and let me tell you, this book is NOT one to read when laughing hurts.

Final Rating:

Get it used...

Get it used…

1 Comment

Filed under Review, Teen Book review, thriller/horror

One response to “Book Review: The Gates

Leave a Reply

