Book Review: Promised

Book: Promised

Author: Caragh M. O’Brien

Recommend: Great conclusion to a wonderful trilogy.

I literally picked this one up the moment I finished writing the review for the last one and couldn’t put it down. This follows Gaia and the rest of Slyum who decides to go back with her and escape the horrible forest, where they were dying out one male birth at a time. She takes them back to Enclave where they are waiting for her and she begins a revolution that may cost her everything.

Okay, this book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. There were a few times that I wasn’t sure exactly how it was all going to work out. Unlike the last book in the series, this one has no ambiguity to it. There are definite rights and wrongs and you want the right to win out. This book is a roller coaster of emotion and keeps the reader going until the very last pages. I loved the hints of other works but especially the author’s subtle nods to A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens throughout the work including using the recalled to life line for example.

I think the only thing I would have liked to see was a little bit longer conclusion. I wanted to see the struggle as they attempt to put their society back together again instead of having it handed to me on a silver platter some time after the fact. I find it to be an annoying trend in YA fiction as of late.

I’m actually really sad to see this one end and would love to read more from this author.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

