Top Ten Tuesday on Thursday: Books that you are most intimidated by

Top Ten TuesdaysSome books can just scare you away for one reason or another. Many of my favorite books actually tend to be on most people’s list. My list isn’t exactly your typical but here it is:

1. Moby Dick by Herman Melville – I have been so intimidated by this one that I haven’t even given it a try. For someone who doesn’t like fish though, a book about the obsessive hunt for the elusive legendary catch seems like something that wouldn’t work out well for me.

2, Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saaverda – I have heard so many wonderful things about this book from a bunch of different people but I have yet to tackle this one. I really don’t know what is stopping me but I just haven’t gone there yet.

3. The Divine Comedy by Dante – For some reason epic poetry is simply not my style. I need to read this one because of how often it is referenced in modern literature but I simply haven’t gotten the guts to tackle this one yet.

4. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky –  I have heard so many great things about this book especially when people find out that I am a fan of Tolstoy. I own it but haven’t cracked the cover yet.

5. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand – I know this one is highly regarded in some circles and have heard enough about it to know that it is one of those required reading pieces but I simply don’t know if this one is up my alley.

6. The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Canon Doyle – I have read a couple of the Sherlock Holmes tales but I simply don’t enjoy them that much. I am not a mystery fan. I simply have never liked reading the genre. I don’t know if this one will ever get tackled. My husband who doesn’t like to read though, loves these.

7. Johnathan Strange and Mr. Norell by Susanna Clarke – I have had this book borrowed from the library and then bought my own copy but I have yet to pull it from the to be read pile and open the cover. Anyone read this one yet and have some compelling reason to get tot his one soon?

8. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin – I know this will be shocking since this is the exact kind of book that would normally be right up my alley. However, I’ve heard exactly how many main characters die in this series and I don’t typically handle that well so I haven’t yet cracked the cover. I know it’s supposed to be wonderful but I haven’t been able to dig into this one.

9. Dracula by Brom Stoker – I know. I need to read this one if I’m a fan of vampire books and I haven’t read the classic tale. I’ve started it a few times but haven’t been able to get through it.

10. Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak – This was my grandmother’s favorite book. I don’t quite know why I haven’t gotten into this one but I haven’t dived in yet. I think this will be the first one on this last that I attempt.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Worm's Obssessive lists, Top Ten Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

