Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

Top Ten TuesdaysAhh… the beach. I have heard of this mystical magical place where summer isn’t miserable. The sun is actually a pleasant thing and the water is beautiful and inviting. It is hard to remember such a place when you live in one of the hottest places in the United States. While that sun is boiling down on me, I can dream of sand and waves even if ten minutes in the sun here means heat stroke. A beach read for me is something enjoyable but not something I’m going to shoot someone for interrupting me in the middle of it. While it is interesting and a great read, it is not so intense that I would growl or snarl at the person who dares to pull me from my fictional existence. If I were going anywhere near a beach this summer, I would take the following books with me for a re-read.

1. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden – Love this story and its rich details. It’s a great read and glimpse into a secret world of mystery and beauty. I think I might re-read this one even without the sun, sand, and sea.

2. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen – Interesting story and great characterization. Highly entertaining as it plods along giving the reader a view of circus life.

3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett – A lighter read that is entertaining and fun. If you somehow missed this one, it’s a great one to take with you.

4. Quiet by Susan Cain – I know what you’re thinking – nonfiction on the beach read list? Really?? I say yes. It’s a great read and will give you a good reason for not wanting to talk to the overly social people sitting on the next blanket. It might also be on my summer re-read list.

5. Matilda by Roald Dahl – Okay, another one that I know might sound a bit strange but this one is a book that I personally find comforting. While this might not be on your beach read list, it is on mine. It takes me back to my childhood in a way few books do.

6. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier – This book is one that no matter where you are could be read over and over again. The setting for this one makes for perfect waterside reading. Definitely one everyone should experience.

7. Anything by Nicholas Sparks – Yes, I read his stuff. No, I’m not entirely proud of that fact but they are great beach reads even if they are more than a bit predictable. Honestly, he needs to get a new formula. Of course, if it’s not broke and all that…

8. The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery – Sweet story that always makes me smile. Also Kilmeny of the Orchard or pretty much anything by this author would be a great choice for enjoying on the beach.

9. The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova – This is a great read. If you are looking to be transported while you tan, this is a great one.

10. Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama – A book about mermaids read by the ocean. This is a no brainer 🙂

What books would be on your summer read list?

1 Comment

Filed under Book Worm's Obssessive lists, Top Ten Tuesdays

One response to “Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

  1. Pingback: BB-voidevertailua

Leave a Reply

