Book Review: Pandemonium

Book: Pandemonium

Author: Lauren Oliver

Recommend: If you’ve read the first book in the series you will be thrilled with the second one…

Okay, honestly I rather enjoyed Delirium but it wasn’t anything that really stuck with me. A society where feelings are not allowed and there is a drug to get rid of them. Seems a lot like the plot from the movie Equilibrium starting Christian Bale. I picked up the next book in the series because one of the blogs I follow and trust simply raved about how much better the second book was. She was completely right. The second book is by far an improvement over the first.

The author takes up through the next part of the story by alternating between two points in Lena’s life, right after she leaves the city and a much later point, where she is helping to spy on the society. The timelines gradually get closer until they meet at the end of the book just in time for the climax scene. I think the pacing is so much better in this book and you really get a feel for who Lena is. The new kid, Julian has his own issues and you are almost happy for them when they fall for each other, even though apart of you is still sad about Alex but that’s okay because Lena is too.

Then the author changes everything in the last two pages and Lena’s life is spun completely out of control again in preparation for book number three, Requiem, which I immediately requested the second I finished reading this one.

I would say the big flaw of this book is that while the two timelines bit worked, in a few areas it was a bit too perfectly planned. When you can see the writing device working for the author, it is no longer working.

Overall, this is a great read and I can’t wait to get my hands on number 3.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

2 responses to “Book Review: Pandemonium

  1. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so
    much, However I am having issues with your RSS. I don’t understand why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

