Top Ten Tuesday: Books I thought I would like more/less than I did

Top Ten TuesdaysWe all have preconceived notions when we get a book in our hands. Whether it is the cover, synopsis, a review or something else, we get an idea of how we think we are going to like a book before we start it. Sometimes our opinion is spot on, but there are occasions where we are very very wrong. These are some of mine.

1. Wicked by Gregory Macguire – This book has so much going for it. First of all, we are dealing with a retelling of the Wizard of Oz. Second this is a villain’s story which are always more fun. Third, there was so much hype surrounding this book. I was so excited when I started reading it. But then I read it. I was never so disappointed. The book is honestly just awful. It’s not the actual basic plot though. The basic plot is great but the way Macguire writes is as dry as dust and there were so many things he threw in that just weren’t necessary, many of which were completely distasteful. Started hearing the music for the musical though and went to see that. Loved it. I think they need to rewrite the book basing off the musical and not letting Macguire have a thing to do with it.

2.Archangel by Sharon Shinn – I really try not to judge a book by it’s cover but I simply couldn’t help it with this one. The cover is honestly cheesetastic (yep, not a word – I know). The synopsis is almost as bad. Really the only reason I read it is because one of my good friends from work was thoroughly convinced that I would love it. I picked it up and was completely engrossed. The story is wonderful and I am halfway convinced that I need to start a petition for a new cover. It’s a great book that suffers from bad artwork. So sad.

3. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – I picked these up out of curiosity. They were already getting a ton of press about how evil they were. Churches were beginning to ban them. As a Christian, I wanted to see what all the controversy was about so I picked up a copy of the first couple of books. Not only is it completely fantasy, they are simply wonderful children’s books. I may have been in line at midnight for the release of every book after that and read them through before going to bed. Never thought I would love them so much. I really don’t understand all the hype surrounding them to this day.

Wow this list is really short and I can’t come up with any more!!!

Honestly, I’m usually spot on about what I read. if I have an opinion beforehand, most books uphold my opinion. However, I really do enjoy going into a book with little to no preformed opinion which is why this list was so hard to create. I like to make decisions for myself and not base them on the decisions of others.

What would be on your list?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Worm's Obssessive lists, Top Ten Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

