Top Ten Tuesday REWIND: Favorite Childhood reads

Top Ten TuesdaysThis is the very first of the Top Ten Tuesdays. Since I just started doing these recently, I figured no better place to start the rewinds than with the very first one on the list that I haven’t done.

1. Imogene’s Antlers by David Small – I absolutely loved this book when I was a kid. The story of a girl who wakes up one day with antlers sticking out of her head and how they try to deal with them. A book that deals with being different without overdoing it.

2. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White – The first book I ever read on my own and still one of my favorites.

3. The Giver by Lois Lowry – An early start to my obsession with dystopian fiction. I read this when I was young and it struck a nerve. It is one of those books that I’ve never forgotten.

4. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle – Loved the idea behind this book. Meg and her relationship with her little brother and the fact that she doesn’t know how important she is makes the book so wonderful. I think that one of the things it communicates best is that everyone has something important to offer. I love how her family is constantly trying to convince her that she is intelligent and important even though she doesn’t have something obviously exceptional about herself that she can see.

5. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien – A book about what happens when you research on animals. It’s a fun read. One I checked out from the library many times.

6. Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh – I loved how she snuck in everywhere and was constantly wrong about everything going on. I was always a people watcher as a kid so I understood her desire to see into people’s personal lives when I was younger.

7. The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams – This book is all about a boy’s love for his favorite toy. I think we all had a toy or two that we were more attached to than the others growing up. I love the life that author gave it after the child could no longer have his toy. Such a great book.

8. Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst – I loved this book especially at the end of a rough day. My mom used to read it to me all the time when I was younger.

9. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – I loved the utter nonsense that was this book when I was younger. I had a copy that included this and Through the Looking Glass.  I needed some nonsense in the middle of all the serious reading I did when I was younger.

10. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgeson Burnett – My mom loved The Secret Garden growing up and while I enjoyed that one as well, it was always second to A Little Princess. I loved the idea of the main character being someone other than who they though she was.

What were some of your childhood favorites?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Worm's Obssessive lists, Top Ten Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

