Book Review: Ready Player One

Book: Ready Player One

Author: Ernest Cline

Recommend: Absolutely! This book is geektastic!

I don’t often pick up books simply for the cover but I’ve had this one in my hands three or four times with different covers. When I realized it, I plopped it into my bag and decided that I had to read it. I started it a few weeks ago and loved the idea of it but reading just wasn’t something I was enjoying. I had hit a massive book slump. I started this one at the beginning of February and finished it – tonight. I simply hadn’t been able to bring myself to read at all except for school, which was required reading. Instead I found myself writing for the first time in a long time. It’s been hard for me to write because of my currently living situation. I really have to feel alone to write. Finally though, this week, I picked it back up and dived in. I haven’t been able to put it down except while I was working.

The story centers around an impossible quest in a future where everyone lives to play OASIS, a virtual world where everyone can live exactly how they like. When the creator dies with no heir, but leaves a contest for his company behind instead, a contest that everyone is trying to win. When a kid from the middle of no where figures out the first part of the quest, suddenly the world’s eyes are on him and everyone is trying to get at him in the game and the real world alike.

I loved all the wonderful geeky references and that the whole thing is set in a video game world set in the 1980s, the era of my childhood. It was definitely a fun read. I think I’m going to be adding to my own library.

Definitely a book any gamer or child of the 80s should read.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

Leave a Reply

