Book Review: Scarlet

Book: Scarlet

Author: Marissa Meyer

Recommend: Definitely! Check out Cinder first though…

I have been waiting for this one rather eagerly since I read the first book in this series.When I lucked out and got an ARC of the book, I was thrilled that I was going to get to read it before it came out.

I loved the futuristic retelling of a classical fairy tale with a metallic twist. The second book does a wonderful job balancing the continuation of the story from the first book while introducing more to the storyline with a retelling of Red Riding Hood and the Big Bad Wolf. I love that while the fairy tales are noticeable, they have a very original spin with a storyline that echoes but is not confined by the constraints of the original material.

The only thing I could say about this series is that now that I know that this was originally a work of fan fiction, I was able to see the threads beneath the redone material and was able to see how it was originally based on something else. To be fair though, there is only one series that it is hard to find the source material underneath for me.

I really can’t wait to see what the rest of this series has in store.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

