Book and Movie Review: The Green Mile

DVD cover

Book and Movie: The Green Mile

Author: Stephen King

A friend lent me this one because I hadn’t read it and hadn’t seen the movie. She insisted that I needed to read the book and then see the movie. I picked it up, feeling a bit of pressure because so many people I know loved it. I have a bit of a rocky history with reading King. I often love the first 80% of his books but find many of his endings leave much to be desired. However I gamely went forward and read it. While this book is not one of those books I couldn’t put down, it definitely was a great read. It had a very different feel than many of his other works.

When I sat down to watch the movie I think the thing that I was most impressed about was that the movie stayed so true to the book. I do like that they didn’t show as much of the second execution as the book described. The book was a bit too detailed even for me. I wouldn’t suggest snacking while reading this one.

Definitely not something I would have picked up on my own but glad that someone handed it to me and told me to read it.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under mature themes and subject matter, Review

2 responses to “Book and Movie Review: The Green Mile

  1. I just bought this book! I’ve never seen the movie though.

    • Watching the movie right after reading the book felt a bit like de ja vu. It was good but they were so similar that it was a bit odd. I think I might actually reread this one. I love the way King writes I just am not always a big fan of his plots. This one though, was good.

Leave a Reply

