Book Review: Variant

Book: Variant

Author: Robison Wells

Recommend: Oh yes… I’m going to get book two tomorrow.

After my disappointment with the last book I read, I wasn’t holding my breath on this one. I typically shy away from anything set in a school. It usually screams trite and repetitive. The quickest way to get me to not read something it to set it at a boarding school. They make it seem like schools of this type are a dime a dozen when the only reason they do it is to get the pesky adult characters out-of-the-way so the teens have more freedom to act. Something though, made me pick this book up. I’m really glad that I did.

Benson gets selected to go to a special school in New Mexico. After the roulette wheel of ever-changing foster homes, he is looking forward to something more stable – at least for a foster kid like him. However, when he arrives and discovers that there are no adults to be found it the first sign that something about this school is not right. He knows that he needs to get out somehow but when escape might mean death how far will he go to gain freedom?

This book is fast-paced and drags the reader into a crazy scenario where everything is not what it seems. With an unimaginable twist, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat. I can’t wait to read the next one! I’ve already got it in my library hold list and I hope I can wait that long.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new πŸ™‚

7 Comments

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

7 responses to “Book Review: Variant

  1. Sounds like a great read! Your initial skepticism for this book sounds like what I thought when I started the Divergent series, which I had heard was being heralded as the new Hunger Games.

    I’ve added “Variant” to my Goodreads list. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • I really did enjoy this book. I can’t wait to get the next one πŸ™‚ Not that I have much time for reading right now. My master’s program is eating up all my time 😦

      • Oh, I certainly know what you mean about a master’s program eating up time. Even thought I graduated from my program a couple of years ago, I distinctly remember not really having any time to read for pleasure. I checked in my library system and only the second book is available now…I’ll just have to wait for the first one to become available first :-/

      • I get to go pick up the second one right now πŸ˜‰ Trying to decide if it’s a good enough excuse to take a break from all my homework…

      • Oh, that’s exciting! Well, I always think reading is a great excuse to procrastinate, but then again I’m a bad influence, hehe πŸ˜›

      • I’m a huge procrastinator too πŸ˜‰ I have 10 papers due on Monday by midnight… I’m on number six. I started on Thursday night. Typical for me πŸ™‚

      • Oh wow! I’ve never had an intense cluster of assignment deadlines like that before. Good luck with finishing!

Leave a Reply

