The last Twilight film….

Anyone else who thought this scene was hilarious?

Okay, so anyone who had read this blog for any length of time knows that I have a very large soft spot for the Twilight series. I know that many people out there can’t stand this series for one reason or another. For me, I think what caught my attention was the fact that it was such a refreshing change at the time from everything I was reading. I had never read much teen or young adult fiction when I was a kid. I went straight from kid books to heavy hitters like War and Peace (which I read for the first time at the age of twelve). While I love serious literature, sometimes you just need something light and fluffy. A good read that you can just enjoy without having to work your brain to death over it. (Don’t get me wrong, I love that stuff too, I just need a balanced diet). I found that most adult material written that way was either so filled with ‘adult material’ or so boring and formula that it wasn’t really worth my time.

Jake and Nessie

When I discovered YA fiction through Twilight, it was like I was reading something tailor-made for me at the time. No sex, fun stories and simple reads. As a teacher by the time I got home, I wasn’t really up to reading something difficult. I really found myself gravitating towards this genre simply because it allowed me an escape that I had time for. Nothing since the Harry Potter series had really captured my imagination without being overly serious.

The end of the Twilight series movies meant that I would no longer get anything new from this first trip into YA fiction. I was so excited to go see the movie. So much so that we bought tickets for the marathon. My best friend and my husband spent the whole day with me watching all of the movies in order. It was nice to get a refresher on the series and it was a great build up to that final movie.

For me, the love of these movies is seeing everything I’ve read play out in front of me. I’m not a big fan of the actors for the most part and I have a great imagination. I also love comparing the original books to the movie. Everything was going great for the most part until the big confrontation with the Volturi. (If you haven’t seen it yet, stop reading here… spoilers ahead). I was bummed that they didn’t do more with Bella and Jenks. I found the whole encounter one that really highlighted how much Bella had changed from that timid girl in the first book. I was all ready from this big conversation that turned into basically nothing except A very frustrated Aro. I was shocked when I saw Carlisle’s head in Aro’s hand. Then I couldn’t believe when more people were picked off one by one. I was literally halfway out of my seat ready to walk in anger from the theater. Then the big reveal happened and I was clapping with the rest of the audience. Yep, the film maker got everyone in the audience in one of the most well done ‘got ya!’ moments I’ve ever seen. By the end credits, besides the major flaw in Alice seeing Nessie and Jacob’s future I was completely satisfied and felt like it was complete.

Now I’m looking for a new book or series to capture me in a similar way and am eagerly awaiting the arrival of The Host in theaters.

4 Comments

Filed under Book Worm Rant, Review

4 responses to “The last Twilight film….

  1. Pingback: At the Nomads’s House « FanFiction Fridays

  2. I have been waiting sooo long to read some else review of this movie. I came out of the pictures after seeing it so full of energy from the end and my post on it has had no love. The Twilight Series was the only vampire one I really got into and a tend to avoid them now. I have to admit I have been a bit disappointed with the films, the first one is just awful, but the finally got it right with this one. The vision of the fight was the best way to make this film work and like you I was almost off my seat when I seen Carlise head, I thought my heart might explode!. I agree the ending with Alice was a little cheesy but still satisfying. Your comment about seeing more of Bella with Jenks is one I didn’t really think of but I agree it was quite an important and interesting part of the book. I really enjoyed your review 🙂

  3. I enjoyed the books and the movies for pretty much the same “light and fluffy” reason. That and following the series with my daughter was just plain fun. In regards to the last Twilight film the gasp in the theater followed by relieved laughter was priceless.

  4. May

    This was exactly what I thought while watching the movie.

Leave a Reply

