A year in review and what is ahead…

Well, last night I stayed up to watch the ball drop and pushed out my last review for 2012. I was relieved because I have been pushing myself to read like crazy for a year long book reading challenge and had been pumping out reviews like a crazy person in order to win. Now that it’s over I can breathe a deep sigh of relief and look back at what I accomplished this year with a serious sense of satisfaction.

In 2012 I read a total of 151 new books for a total of 56,998 pages. I started the year with the goal to read 50 books and tripled that by the end of the year. This count only includes new books and does not include the reread of the Twilight series that I couldn’t help doing after seeing the last movie in the series and the crazy twist that came with it. I also reread The Sword of Truth series.

Of the year, the 10 best books I read were:

1. The Handmaid’s TaleMargaret Atwood

2. Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier

3. The Reading Promise- Alice Ozma

4. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce

5. The Book ThiefMarkus Zusak

6. Legend – Marie Lu

7. Eve – Anna Carey

8. The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

9. Quiet – Susan Cain

10. Divergent – Veronica Roth

The worst reads of the year:

1. Advent – James Treadwell

2. Caught in CrystalPatricia C. Wrede

3. Sweet Valley Confidential – Francine Pascal

4. Talisman of El – Alecia Stone

5. Zombie – J.R. Angelella

In 2013, I have set an initial goal of 100 books. I will be finishing my master’s degree and I think that I’m not going to have the time to spend on it. This year I plan to spend more time writing as well whenever I have a chance. As far as my blog goes, I plan to do more posts that are not book reviews. With the reading page challenge that I was a part of I did more reviewing than I had planned on and this year I would like to get back to writing more posts that aren’t traditional reviews.  The reviews aren’t going anywhere but I plan on doing more series and reviving some that I haven’t had time to spend time on.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Worm Rant

One response to “A year in review and what is ahead…

  1. A very ambitious goal! That’s wonderful that you read 151 new books in 2012…certainly give me something to aspire to!

Leave a Reply

