Book Review: The Twelve

Book: The Twelve

Author: Justin Cronin

Recommend: If you’ve read The Passage or if you like more traditional vampire books…

I loved the first book in this series. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the second book in the series. I finally found a copy the other day and was ready to dive in. I quickly realized that I didn’t remember who a lot of the characters were and found myself going back to The Passage a bit to review. I normally hate when an author goes back to review who the people are but in this case, I really could have used some review.

As they move across the United States, things are changing. Something is killing off the virals. While horrible attacks are still occurring, they are not overwhelming every settlement. When they begin to realize the awful truth, there seems to be no way to stop the inevitable.

This is a hard book to summarize simply because there is so much going on without giving away everything. In some ways I kind of feel like this book wasn’t planned at all when Cronin finished The Passage originally. While the players are the same, in a way they feel somewhat altered and slightly more shallow than the first book. While it was still good, I guess that nothing can quite compare to the original.

Definitely worth reading if you’ve read the first one and if you haven’t read The Passage, you should go out and pick it up.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Filed under mature themes and subject matter, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, thriller/horror

Leave a Reply

