Book Review: Changeling

Book: Changeling

Author: Philippa Gregory

Recommend: Bit of a dull slog honestly.

I picked this one up simply because I thought it would interesting to see what her work for teens would be like. I knew her name of course because of The Other Boleyn Girl and other books that she has written (none of which I have read – yet). I figured this would be a great way to get into her. I was really wrong. Everything about this book was completely unappealing to me. I just couldn’t get into it!

There is just simply too much court and pieces of the inquisition in here to really be readable. I also found her writing to be rather dull. The book was on the shorter side which, along with the fact that I didn’t want to abandon two books in a row, were the only reasons I finished it. I don’t think it was a bad book but I don’t see it going over well with teenagers honestly. The characters feel far too old and dull. There is too much propriety and not enough passion to make this book enjoyable. It just lacked spark.

Might be up someone else’s alley but this was simply not my cup of tea.

Final Rating:

TRASH IT!!

Leave a comment

Filed under historical fiction, Review, Teen Book review, thriller/horror

Leave a Reply

