Book Review: The Name of the Star

Click image to purchase

Book: The Name of the Star

Author: Maureen Johnson

Recommend: It was an unusual read. Definitely a different plot idea.

I’ve seen this book countless times. I’ve had it in my hand quite a few times and tend to put it down for other titles that I simply must have. I finally sat down and read it this week and enjoyed it quite a bit.

The story centers around a girl who is sent to a boarding school in London where grisly murders that echo the Jack the Ripper murders keep occurring. When Rory sees the killer, she is suddenly the target in the frenzied investigation. When the murders continue in very odd and impossible circumstances, Rory begins to suspect that something much larger is going on. Will they be able to stop the modern-day ripper before he claims all of his victims?

I really enjoyed the book for some strange reason that I can’t put my finger on. The elements of the story are ones I tend to avoid. The biggest one being boarding school. YA fiction set in a boarding school usually means ridiculous plots that are so sweetly trite they make the reader want to gag. The big secret is another plot line I just don’t enjoy most of the time (don’t want to ruin it for those who might want to read it though). I also can’t tell you how many Jack the Ripper books I’ve seen lately. With all that going against it, I shouldn’t have enjoyed the read and yet it was quite fun.

I don’t know that I’ll be racing out to get the next one the day it releases but I definitely want to know what happens next.

Final Rating:

Get it used…

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

