Book Review: Monstrous Beauty

Click image to purchase

Book: Monstrous Beauty

Author: Elizabeth Fama

Recommend: I was surprised by how much I liked this book.

I honestly thought there was no possible way I would like this book. Every single thing I’ve ever seen or read on mermaids (besides The Little Mermaid of course) has only ever come across as hokey and lame. I started this one figuring that I would hate it and struggle through. I was delighted to find that not only was it readable but I was thoroughly engrossed and really bummed out when I had to put the book down for a few hours for CPR and first aid training.
This story tells how wanting love for a mermaid caused a curse that would last for generations. Now Hester, the latest in a line of female descendants threatened by death, decides to figure out what she can do to keep childbirth from being a death sentence.

This book was not at all what I expected in a very good way. The fact that the characters happened to be mermaids wasn’t the center of the story but simply a complication. This was all about developing the characters and how people react when they can’t be with the person they love.

Definitely worth reading and one I won’t be letting go of anytime soon.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, romance, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

Leave a Reply

