Abandoned Book Review: Velveteen

Click image to purchase

Book: Velveteen

Author: Daniel Marks

Recommend: Nope! I couldn’t get through this one and don’t think you’ll be able to either.

I thought the concept of this book was interesting. What do you do in purgatory if you are a dead teenage girl? Something new and different right? Then I started reading. The beginning read like a YA version of The Lovely Bones. I was immediately annoyed. I continued to read, hoping that visiting purgatory would be more interesting. I was horribly wrong. This was like a cheap rip off of The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis meets the Cassandra Clare books. Everything was very vague and the characters were all modern which wouldn’t fit the notion that some souls had only been there a little time and others had been there for a very long time. In short, the author’s version of purgatory wasn’t believable.

Then I hit the first action sequence. It reminded me of a bad video game fight that didn’t make much sense or have enough detail to be enjoyable. At this point, I was done. I only made it through 72 pages of the book. I just couldn’t bring myself to read any further.

While this book might have some redeeming qualities later on, I wasn’t going to stick around to find out. This is one that I wouldn’t recommend wasting your time or energy on.

Final Rating:

TRASH IT!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

