Book Review: Beautiful Creatures

Cover of "Beautiful Creatures"

Click image to purchase

 

Book: Beautiful Creatures

Authors: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Recommend: Well, it was a good story but definitely not up everyone’s alley.

Let me say this immediately. If you have an objection to the Harry Potter series due to the use of magic, you will object to this book. Don’t bother reading any further.

Okay, I’ve heard so much about this book. Sometimes when a book is crazy popular though, I avoid it like the plague for a long as I possibly can. This was one of those. After hearing the summary, I really didn’t think I would like it. I was wrong. I liked it quite a bit. It wasn’t earth shattering in my opinion, but it was fun. I can definitely see how they are making a movie out of this one.

Lena is the new girl. The new girl with the recluse uncle who is just off herself and Ethan has been dreaming about her long before he met her.

I liked it. A lot. I loved the fact that even though this was first person, the narrator was a boy! I can’t remember the last time I came across YA with a boy narrator! I don’t think that Lena could have told the story as well and I think choosing Ethan as the main character was the right choice. There were some times where the fact that the author was two women writing a teenage boy were obvious, but for the most part it was refreshing, even though it made him come across as a bit effeminate.

The big negative for me, was this book was a bit too predictable. I had it figured out way too quickly. I kept reading but there wasn’t much surprise here. I know many people who have read these might not agree but for me, it was fun but nothing new.

Final Rating:

Get it used…

Leave a comment

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

