Book Review: The Night Circus

Click image to purchase

Book: The Night Circus

Author: Erin Morgenstern

Recommend: If you only read one book this year, make it this one.

I was reluctant to read this. I waited until the day before it was due back at the library to pick it up. I find it hard to read books about the circus. There is something so foreign, strange and desperate about it all. This book however, takes the idea to a level of surrealism that makes it feel like a grown up dark fairy tale. The author balances a complex, delicate story which could so easily unravel with a level of mastery I have rarely read. The images this book brought to my mind will stick with me for a very long time.

This tells the story of two children who are used as pawns in a competition for the amusement of old men. The game is magic and the stage is an elaborate circus that only runs at night. Unknown to each other, they compete, creating wonder after wonder, all the time wondering when it will finally end.

This story in the hands of almost anyone else would have been a disaster. This author however knew exactly what to say and what to hold back from the read. How to skate the line of believability without crossing it. How to create an ensemble of characters that worked well together, each rich in their own right without competing with each other for dominance.

I would LOVE to see this on film but I would only want to see it done by the right people.

Wonderfully written and amazing to read, the moment I closed the book, I almost ran to buy a copy for my nook.

Final Rating:

Need more than one copy!!

1 Comment

Filed under general fiction, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

One response to “Book Review: The Night Circus

  1. wmr1601

    I’m glad to see this review today; hubby and I were looking at this book yesterday. I’ll have to check it out :).

Leave a Reply

