Book Review: The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy

Book: The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy

Author:Nikki Loftin

Recommend: If you have sweet tooth or grew up on real fairy tales

I occasionally will pick up a book or two for middle grade readers. I teach kids this age and like to see what kinds of things they are reading. I had no idea what this book was about but something drew me in and I just had to check it out. I am so glad that I did.

I have always had an obsession with fairy tales. I have volumes of them in my library that I have read cover to cover. As I got into this story and realized quickly that it was a warped retelling of Hansel and Gretel, I was completely hooked. I love reading fairy tales will a new twist and this book has new twists in droves.

The story centers around a girl named Lorelei who blames herself for her mother’s death. She doesn’t see eye to eye with her new stepmother and feels lost in her new life. When they return from their trip after the wedding a shiny new too good to be true school has popped up in their neighborhood just as the other school mysteriously burns to the ground. At this school students eat all that they want, study if they want to and only get in trouble when they stop eating. Soon things at their new school begin to reveal that everything is not as perfect as they seem. Why does everyone seem to have the same teacher? Why is the music teacher so mean to children with talent? Why is the kitchen wait staff as thin as rails and why is the only truly fat kid, afraid to eat the food?

I think any third through sixth grade student would find this book a funny and silly adventure into the fairy tale world. I almost wish that it was written for someone older because I want to read it again.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's book review, Review

Leave a Reply

