Book Review: The Book Thief

Cover of "The Book Thief"

Book: The Book Thief

Author: Markus Zusak

Recommend: Definitely.

This is another one of those books that I’ve been meaning to read for ages. So many people have recommended it. I got my hands on a copy this week. At first I didn’t think I would like it. At the end, I cried.

Set in World War 2 Germany, The Book Thief steals her first book the day her brother dies. The next from a Nazi book burning. A brave, real kid trying to live through the horrors that surrounded her. Told by death, this book has a unique perspective of what it was like for the people of Germany under Hitler’s rule.

I have to say that I think this book would have been better in some ways if Death hadn’t given away the ending quite so soon. The first half of the book it seems like the author was stumbling a bit with his unique narrator. The last quarter it was impossible to put down. I think on a reread, it wouldn’t seem so strange.

The characters are what stand out the most in this book. Leisel is a very powerful character, somewhat flawed like the rest of us but with an amazing heart. Hans and Rosa are fabulous in their own ways. Max is so strong even though everything is going against him and I dare you not to feel for Rudy.

This book is going to end up on school reading lists everywhere. It is going to be a book that stands the test of time. I don’t own it yet. It will be the next book I buy.

Final Rating:

Need more than one copy!!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012, historical fiction, Review, Summer book challenge, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

