I was going to write something with a patriotic theme today but…

Happy Fourth of July!

Okay, I had been planning to write this list of patriotic books to read but just never got around to it. I was determined when I woke up this morning that I would spend some time getting to done so that my post would go out around noon, which is when my posts usually hit. However, when I woke up this morning, I found a post on my personal Facebook wall from a friend sharing this blog that she was sure I would love. She was right. In fact, at this point I’ve spent two hours looking through this one and decided that I simply couldn’t keep something this good to myself.

reading The Rum Diary

Reading Rabbit Run

Reading The Iliad

The blog is called Underground New York Public Library and it is a photo blog dedicated to picture of people reading while riding the subway or waiting for it in New York City. I think what draws me in the most about this blog is the expressions on the reader’s faces. You can tell just by looking in many cases whether they are enjoying their read or not. I also love seeing the unexpected readers and books. Some of them are funny, some are surprising but they are all intriguing. Like the older gentleman reading teen fiction (Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins). The homeless man reading a kid’s book and was so excited about it that he just had to share. I also found myself trying to figure out where readers were in books I knew well or had recently read, imagining what the expression on their face meant in relation to where they were in the book. It’s the most subtle form of book review I have ever seen but is extremely powerful as well.

You can find the blog at http://undergroundnewyorkpubliclibrary.com/. Definitely worth checking out 🙂

Maybe next year I’ll get to that list of patriotic books, but for this year, hope you enjoy seeing people reading in one of the most iconic places in the country.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Worm Rant

Leave a Reply

