Book Review: Room

Book: Room

Author: Emma Donoghue

Recommend: Great read dealing with a sensitive topic.

I picked this one up, not quite sure what to expect. The New York Times Book Review named this book as their book of the year. Others have said that they couldn’t stand the writing style because of the intentional mistakes due to the five-year old perspective. So, this one had me a bit on edge because I tend to agree more with other readers than professional reviewers.

I started reading this Saturday night at midnight. I figured I’d get a little bit of the way in and then stop and head to bed since it was an early morning for me. The next thing I knew, it was after 2am and I was halfway through the book. I forced myself to put it down and go to bed so that I would get at least a couple of hours of sleep and be able to sing in the morning. (Sunday mornings I sing with the worship team at my church). I read every spare moment I had during the day until I finally finished the book while waiting on laundry to finish.

This book tells the story of a five-year old boy and his mother. Jack has never known anything other than Room, a small shed where he has lived his entire life in fear of Old Nick, the man who kidnapped his mother when she was 19 years old. A story ripped from the headlines and told from a child’s perspective made this book completely absorbing.

The only thing that made this hard to read was that sometimes the structure and capitalization of words in this book got a bit old. I know why the author did it but it was distracting in places, especially when trying to get back into it after putting it down.

I would note that while it handles the material sensitively, this book does contain some mature subjects and is not for every audience.

Overall this was an amazing read and worth the time. One I really want to add to my library and reading again.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under 2012, general fiction, mature themes and subject matter, Review, Summer book challenge

3 responses to “Book Review: Room

  1. I have been wondering whether to pick this one up or not – your review helps!

  2. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Kudos

    • I was not aware of that fact. I don’t use chrome personally. I’m a fan of Firefox, where it shows up just fine. I’ll check it out though! Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

