Book Review: A Once Crowded Sky

Book: A Once Crowded Sky

Author: Tom King

Recommend: If you are a fan of comic books, graphic novels or movies based on comics.

I currently have a pile of advanced reader copies cluttering up my dresser, since I have no room left on my bookshelf right now. It is time to either pack up some of my books or decide what I should send to the used bookstore. Anyway, after looking at all the covers and reading the synopsis, I decided on this book since I had just finished a piece of nonfiction that had pushed me to the limit. I needed some fun reading.

This book is the story of Arcadia City and how all of its many superheroes gave up their powers to save the world. All except one. Now that a threat has returned to their city, the one left must save them all. However, nothing is as simple as it seems. As the layers unravel, what seems right is wrong and what seems so complex comes down to a husband’s love for his wife.

This book was a fun read however, I found myself getting bored quite often. It felt far too much like every other superhero story I had read. The plot was far too much like The Watchmen without the same level of dark intensity. The heroes were altered slightly and ripped from the pages of comic books. I could almost see the composite origins of every single one. While writing a new, unique superhero is rather difficult, the heroes in this book are pieces of this and that thrown together to create heroes that feel stale and familiar.

As I reached the climax of the book, I found it somewhat more engaging and found parts very endearing. Overall this book is mediocre at best. While it might be an enjoyable read for a comic enthusiast, for someone who only occasionally enjoys a graphic novel, this book left a stale taste in my mouth.

Final Rating:

Get it free

 

 

 

 

I got this book as an advanced reader copy after requesting it from an ad in a shelf awareness pro newsletter.

1 Comment

Filed under 2012, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Summer book challenge

One response to “Book Review: A Once Crowded Sky

  1. Hi, there! Thanks for your review…I found it via goodreads. I’m actually really interested in reading this book. Your review confirmed what I thought the book would turn out to be: just another superhero story. Nonetheless, as a comic book/video game fan, I’m interested in reading it.

    I noticed at the beginning of your post you mentioned you were thinking of getting rid of some books. If you’re looking to give away “A Once Crowded Sky,” I’d be happy to take it off your hands (and can return it once I’m finished if you like!). Feel free to e-mail me at roaringout@gmail.com and we can chat more about the book exchange if you’re interested.

    Also, I’m not a bot or spam, I swear! Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

