Book Review: Fire and Ice

Book: Fire and Ice

Author: Patty Jensen

Recommend: No way! This one is not worth anyone’s time…

I won this book for free as a giveaway off of librarything’s member giveaway. It has been sitting in my inbox for a few weeks. For some reason, ebooks weren’t appealing to me for a while and so part of trying to break my reading slump was to go back to my nook for reading.

This book tells the story of a world where magic is forbidden and those with magic are recognizable because they are imperfect. The only positive I can say about this one is that it was a fast read. I was able to breeze through it quickly.

While this book had a unique magic system, it was not well planned out and the author was frequently adding something new to it to make it work. The writing was very simplistic and the plot wasn’t easy to follow. This definitely felt like something that was self-published. While this writer definitely has potential, I don’t think they are ready for publishing yet.

This book has a high frequency of adult subject matter that does nothing for the story except to shock. That alone made the book unreadable in my opinion. I wouldn’t bother with this one.

Final Rating:

BURN IT!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012, mature themes and subject matter, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Summer book challenge

Leave a Reply

