Book Review: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Book: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Authors: Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

Recommend: Maybe if you like zombies and actually enjoyed Pride and Prejudice (I don’t).

I admit it. While I like Jane Austen, I have never liked Pride and Prejudice. I’m just not a fan of Mr. Darcy! I have read the original book once and hated every minute of it. I avoided this book for quite some time but I really am a fan of good zombie stories. I picked this one up at the library and finally decided that it had to be read. Even zombies couldn’t save this story.

Seth Grahame-Smith did a very good job of adding zombies into this story for the most part. The only element I found to be a bit odd was the Oriental influence. Ninjas? Really??? People having dojos on their property and girls fighting and killing zombies in dresses was a bit too out of character for the time period. I think that he would have done better to keep the zombie killers as men and have the women be protected by them. It was too modern a notion for the setting of the book. It kept pulling me from the story, which I already don’t really like.

This book might be appealing to some but I would much rather read Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter any day to this bit of drivel.

Final Rating:

TRASH IT!!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Summer book challenge, thriller/horror

Leave a Reply

