Book Review: 11/22/63

Book: 11/22/63

Author: Stephen King

Recommend: I loved most of the book..

I have been wanting to read this one for quite a while. A friend recommended it. I’ve been hearing tons of buzz about this one. When I found an available copy of it at the library, I decided that I simply had to pick it up. I was up all night finishing it.

What if you could go back in time and change the future of the world? What if you could prevent injuries, tragedies, or even the assassination of JFK? What if you could only go back to one point in history and had to live five years of your life in the past in order to be able to change that event. How would you wait five years in history to accomplish it. What if history didn’t want to change?

Stephen King is a masterful story-teller. His characters are well fleshed out and he can make almost anything seem completely believable. Even time travel and figuring out how to stop Lee Harvey Oswald from killing JFK. The complication of love to the storyline made it feel exactly that – complicated. The book was well researched and bursting with interesting characters and places.

I loved most of this book. I hated the ending, just like the last Stephen King book I read, Under the Dome. Why King seems to be able to completely trash something that could easily have a really good ending is beyond me. You spend the whole book wanting the main character to somehow be able to change history for the better and be able to take the woman he loves to the future with him. That’s what the reader wants. That isn’t what King writes. He seems to be incapable of writing a completely satisfying and happy ending. The ending to this book just made me frustrated and mad. After almost 900 pages, I want an ending worthy of the massive read I just made. The ending to this book was not.

While most of this book was well worth the read, I wish I could simply rewrite the ending – again. I’m starting to lose faith in King’s ability to end a book!

Final Rating:

Get it free

2 Comments

Filed under 2012, general fiction, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Summer book challenge

2 responses to “Book Review: 11/22/63

  1. Some of King’s endings frustrate me to no end (this was one–I felt like I had just gotten kicked in the stomach when I read it) but I think this one in particular was inevitable after all the talk about the immutability of the past. Maybe it took Jake (that was his name, right?) 900 pages to figure out that the past should stay the past, but it was a darn good bit of historical fiction, I thought.

    This, for me, was one of those books that I absolutely devoured (on an anniversary trip with my boyfriend, whoops–but I blame him since he’s the one who gave it to me) but that I think will be hard to return to, knowing the ending. It’ll be hard to invest all that time to know that nothing really good happens in the end.

    But overall, I thought the writing, the characterization, and the storyline were as wonderful as ever. I’m sorry the ending sort of ruined it for you đŸ˜¦

    • I’m a sucker for happy endings… what can I say?

      It didn’t completely ruin it for me because most of it was really good and I do enjoy King’s writing style. I had a feeling that he couldn’t write a happily ever after but I hoped… silly but true.

      I’m with you on this. I don’t think I’ll be revisiting this one.

Leave a Reply

