Book Review: Black Sunday

The cover gives the whole plot away..grr!

Book: Black Sunday

Author: Thomas Harris

Recommend: If you like political thrillers where you already know what it is leading up to.

I have read the whole Hannibal Lecter series, written by Thomas Harris. This is the one book that I hadn’t tackled yet. When I saw it for one dollar a couple of weeks ago, I couldn’t pass it up! So I put it in my stack of stuff to read and thought it would be sure bet for a book I would really enjoy. I was wrong.

While this book wasn’t horrible, it was missing something. It was missing a true mastermind that was actually scary. While the plot line was very interesting, the characters really needed development. They had serious potential, but I’m not sure if there were just too many of them fighting for the main character role or that he just didn’t spend enough time developing them but it felt like it was missing something to hold it all together. For a first novel it was readable, but is not in the same league as everything that followed. I think that the author learned a lot from this process and came away knowing that he needed to create stronger characters, which he fantastically accomplished in his next book.

If you haven’t read anything by this author, you might find it satisfying but having read his other books and then following it with this one, I was somewhat disappointed. This one is going back to the used bookstore. Maybe I’ll get more back than I paid, because even a dollar was a bit much for this one.

Final Rating:

Get it free

2 Comments

Filed under 2012, political thriller, Review, Summer book challenge

2 responses to “Book Review: Black Sunday

  1. Great review, very insightful – thanks! I have only read Red Dragon by Harris but I really enjoyed it. Whilst this one doesn’t sound like I’d love it, I would probably like to read the rest of the Lecter series. 🙂

    New to your blog,

    Steph @ Stepping Out of the Page

    • You definitely need to read the rest of the series. Hannibal ends very differently than the movie and I actually like the book ending better in some ways. While the movie Hannibal Rising was great, the book gives the reader much more insight into how Hannibal thinks. You really get to understand the character in a way you never did before. I guess I really need to write a review on them but go read them, Red Dragon is the weakest of the four books 😉

Leave a Reply

