A Series of Unfortunate Events

Series: A Series of Unfortunate Events

Author: Lemony Snicket

Recommend: Definitely worth the read!

I was looking through my bookshelves today and realized that in all the time I’ve had my blog, I have yet to talk about this series of books!

I have read these books now a couple of times and each time I read them I am reminded how funny they are in a dark and slightly twisted way. Yes, the story is about three orphans trying to make their way in the world without their family with villains seemingly around every corner but somehow they manage to maintain a tongue-in-cheek amusement factor that get me laughing every time. Whether it is the quirky grammar obsessed Aunt Josephine, the horrible Count Olaf, or the fashion frenzied distant relatives, the adults in these books are completely over the top.

Jim Carrey as Count Olaf

This is a great series for kids. I love how the author likes to use very big words and give definitions that always start with, “Which in this case means…” and gives an off the wall definition that is somehow still accurate (or mostly so). As an adult reader, this can get a bit repetitive but for kids, it’s a great way to increase vocabulary. As a teacher, I think this set of books would be great for kids who are gifted. These characters would be something they could relate to.

I always try to find something less than positive to say about the books I review. For this set of books, I would say that the last book doesn’t really create a sense of an ending, despite its title. The reader is left hanging, wondering what is next for these kids. There is no resolution. No profound solution to their problems. It just leaves them to carry on, trying to make it in a world out to get them. I was hoping for much more from this author regarding the conclusion to his 13 book series.

Definitely worth the time and worth giving to the middle grade readers around you.

Final Rating:

Get it used…

6 Comments

Filed under Children's book review, mystery, Review

6 responses to “A Series of Unfortunate Events

  1. thelonefigure

    I loved this book and even bought every book in the series! You’re right, though. I wish the last book did give more of an ending and tied up some loose ends, i.e. if ever the Quagmire triplets were found, what really was VFD etc. I didn’t really like the movie, however. Haha 🙂 Loved this post!

  2. Pingback: A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket « She Reviews Everything

  3. Pingback: A Series of Unfortunate Events: the Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket « She Reviews Everything

  4. Pingback: A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Vile Village by Lemony Snicket « She Reviews Everything

  5. Pingback: A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket « She Reviews Everything

  6. Pingback: A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Carnivorous Carnival by Lemony Snicket « She Reviews Everything

Leave a Reply

