Book Review: Overseas

Book: Overseas

Author: Beatriz Williams

Recommend: This book was amazing. This goes double for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife.

I have been trying to read this book for two weeks now. Something always seems to be getting in the way. Finally, today once I was out of work for my final day of the school year, I was able to sit down and finally get started on this book. Once I was started I couldn’t put it down even though I spent the whole rest of the day with my mom running errands. By the time I reached my cousin’s birthday party this evening, I was at the climax of the book and couldn’t seem to put it down. Thankfully my family is used to, as my husband calls it, my antisocial tendencies and mostly left me alone to finish my book.

Sometimes there are books that just grab your attention and pull you along. Something you can’t put down. Something you can’t forget. This is one of those books. I think this is going to be a book I come back to repeatedly simply¬† because the story is just too good to read once and never revisit. This book tells the story of Kate, an investment banker who gets assigned to work on a case with one of the richest men in New York. Instantly they seem to hit it off. Then he disappears only to rescue her in the strangest way. There is something intense going on between them. Is it just love at first sight or something much more that started long before either of them could have been born?

While there are some adult scenes, it is not the focus of the book and for the most part they are brief and some form of a fade-to black (although not as chaste as other authors I could mention) and doesn’t distract from the story. I actually admire her restraint and class on this. I’ve been wracking my brain for a negative of this one all night and one just isn’t coming to me! When I can’t come up with something bad to say, the writer really has something special. I can’t wait to read more from this author!

Final Rating:

Need more than one copy!!

Final Rating:

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012, general fiction, mature themes and subject matter, Review, romance, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Summer book challenge

Leave a Reply

