A voice screaming to get out!

Book: Carly’s Voice

Authors: Arthur and Carly Fleischmann

Recommend: Anyone who has ever met, dealt with or will ever meet someone who is Autistic should check this book out!

I was introduced to Carly a year or so ago through a friend of mine whose son was diagnosed with Autism. I read everything I could, watched the interviews and started following Carly on twitter. I found her to be an amazing young lady who has done so many remarkable things in her short life. It is hard to believe that the person that is sharing their thoughts with you has any challenge in their life, let alone one that can interfere as much as autism can, especially to the severity that Carly has to deal with it.

I found the journey of the family refreshingly real. I love that they were willing to be bold about what they could and could not handle. Parents aren’t saints and these people were open about their experiences and the difficulties they faced, especially when Carly was younger. Knowing many kids who are autistic, I know what it is like to deal with them in my classroom and how challenging it can be (although very rewarding). I can’t imagine how hard it must be when it is your own child. Someone you want to give the world to and make their life easy and then that precious child ends up unable to speak or communicate and does things that seem completely irrational to them.

I would definitely recommend reading Carly’s chapter. It’s at the end of the book. She is funny, full of spunk and has a great way of communicating her thoughts.

The only negative I could come up with is that I would have liked to hear from Carly more. Understanding what is going on with her has been such a huge insight into what an Autistic kid experiences.I wanted to hear more form her. I guess I’ll have to keep an eye on her twitter feed 🙂

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under non fiction, Review

Leave a Reply

