Book Review: Comes a Horseman

Book: Comes a Horseman

Author: Robert Liparulo

Recommend: It’s a fun, fast-paced read for the most part…

I have been holding off on this book for far too long. A friend of mine lent it to me ages ago and I just couldn’t seem to get the time to get into it. I actually started reading it once before but was not in the mood for a story like this at the time and so I put it aside again. I have been trying to get through quite a few of my reading commitments lately and realized that this book was still sitting on my shelves, waiting patiently to be read. So finally last night, I picked it up and got going.

This book begins with a murder scene. I found it to be an interesting way to open the book and a great way to grab the reader’s attention. Then the scene abruptly shifts to following a FBI agent around. Eventually you realize that you are going to be moving back and forth through two and three parallel story lines that, as an experienced reader, you know must intersect eventually. The book was a blend of something written by Dan Brown and a serial killer novel with some Biblical undertones that didn’t attack Christianity, unlike Brown’s famous books.I was thoroughly sucked into the book and enjoyed it.

I would say that there was one big negative for me with this one. As you reach the third and final act of this book. As the stories begin to come together, the book for some reason just seems to slow down. The author reaches this frenzied pace in the second section that he just doesn’t quite live up to in the third. This doesn’t mean that the book isn’t interesting, it just lacks the sparkle of the middle which felt like a bit of a let-down after the blood pumping, fabulous middle section of the book. The climax of the book ends a bit awkwardly in my opinion as well and feels anticlimactic in comparison to everything that has come before it.

While this was a great read, the ending kind of left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. I am interested to read more by this author but I think I would want to read some reviews first so I don’t get another ending like this one.

Final Rating:

Get it used…

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Review, thriller/horror

Leave a Reply

