Life in a library

Book: Dispatches from a Public Librarian

Author: Scott Douglas

Recommend: Entertaining and light-hearted read…

I am a sucker for the library. I’ve been hanging out in them all my life. One of my favorite things to do growing up was to go to work with my mom. Not because her office was cool or because the ladies would dote on me incessantly but because I was allowed to spend my whole day in the library while mom worked in the next building. I would spend days during the summer holed up in the teen corner of the children’s section of the library reading as many books as I could get through in a day. I also spent a good deal of my time watching people, especially as I got old enough to venture into the adult part of the library.

Spending so much time in the library growing up, I found Scott’s book about the life of  a librarian hilarious because I had made some of the same observations growing up. Scott has an amusing way to look at the patrons and events that happen in his Orange County California library nestled right near Disneyland. Some of the things he says just crack me up completely. I am very tempted to start following his blog. It also makes me want to start writing a blog about the crazy things I see and hear at my job. I think I might be able to give Scott a run for his money.

Final Rating:

Get it used…

Leave a comment

Filed under non fiction, Review

Leave a Reply

