Book Review: A bite with a disapointing aftertaste..

Book: Overbite

Author: Meg Cabot

Recommend: It was an interesting read but the ending was disappointing…

I went to the library today instead of the bookstore. I’m not sure what prompted me to do so actually but I decided on the library today. Maybe I was on the hunt for something different. I went through their best picks section and picked up a book I had been interested by before but not enough to actually get into. I knew Meg Cabot from her Princess Diaries books which I am sad to say, I did not enjoy very much. So I was a bit skeptical when I started reading this one.

The story centers around a vampire hunter working for a secret organization of the Vatican called the Palatine named Meena who had the unfortunate distinction of falling in love with the Prince of Darkness, Dracula’s son. She was still in love with him and was fighting against him at the same time, convinced that there was still some good in him. I really liked Meena quite a bit and found the fact that she loved Lucien but was fighting it interesting until I reached the last 50 pages or so. This book, the second in a series, was obviously her reaction to Twilight and the Sookie Stackhouse series and her displeasure with the idea that the female lead character couldn’t seem to fight her love for the vampires she should have stayed away from. I think that is one of the aspects that makes both series so engaging, while Cabot just ruins it with an uninteresting and flat character that basically ruined the book for me. I found nothing original in the work, but found it to a borrowing of many other famous vampire lore so often redone and overdone. She really had nothing new to add which was disappointing because it showed so much promise.

Not one I would bother wasting your time one. I was thoroughly disappointed in it. I have a feeling that many will disagree with me on this one though. Please feel free to share your thoughts if you’ve read this one.

Final Rating:

TRASH IT!!

4 Comments

Filed under Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, thriller/horror

4 responses to “Book Review: A bite with a disapointing aftertaste..

  1. Extremely wonderful content. We really happened at your current blog page as well as imagined expressing which i need very loved studying your own site items. Anyways I will end up being following for your blog as well as Hopefully a person put up once immediately.

  2. Study it, liked it, many thanks for it

  3. Reading this post – the gift of the time

  4. Excellent article! Bonne contination à vous 🙂

Leave a Reply

