Book Review: A very Perculiar book about some very strange kids

Yes, the girl is supposed to look like she's floating...

Book: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Recommend: If you find old circus side-shows entertaining in any way..

I have been wanting to read this book for quite a while now. I almost bought it for my nook a while back but was worried that the pictures wouldn’t all be there or would have trouble rendering correctly. In my experience pictures on an e-ink screen are risky business so I decided to wait and finally got to this one recently.

The story is centers around a boy named Jacob and his grandfather who had a very mysterious past. Jacob sees his grandfather get murdered by something that could only be described as a monster which leads him on an adventure into the strange and unusual. Using old photos of unusual children, the story is a unique jaunt into the strange and peculiar.

I definitely enjoyed reading this one. Jacob was a lot of fun to read. He was curious and skeptical enough that when he finally bought it, the reader was willing to follow him into the whole idea that these peculiar children weren’t fakes at all. The idea that his grandfather had grown up in such a place and that he was peculiar as well was very interesting. I was rather disappointed when you finally find out what his particular talent is. I saw the ending coming a mile away and I think that the author delayed it a bit too long. There was definitely room for another book to follow and as long as it was a good as the first one, I might be tempted to venture back into the intriguing world he created.

I do have to say that in a few places the book just seemed to drag. I think he spent too much time explaining things that reader had already figured out at least vaguely, making them acutely uninteresting to read. I thought that there were too many children and their talents to keep track of. He needed to spend more time making each child stand out more to the reader. Many were very flat and it took some time trying to remember what their talents were and how they used them. It made the climax of the book difficult to read because I was constantly stopping to figure out exactly what each on contributed.

Definitely worth reading, I’m not sure it’s one that I need to reread, unless this ends up the start of a series. I might need to read it again just so I remember exactly what happened before moving on.

Final Rating:

Get it used...

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's book review, Review

Leave a Reply

