Covenant Child

Book: Covenant Child

Author: Terri Blackstock

Recommend: It was an engaging afternoon diversion…

I have recently realized that as much as I would like to, I can’t spend every afternoon of my life at a bookstore or the library. At the speed that I devour books, finding ways to get them for free is just a necessity. So I decided to look into how ways to get advanced copies of books due to come out for reviewing purposes. I looked into some and found a couple ways to try. This book is the first one I’ve gotten.  So this afternoon I actually went home after work and sat down on the couch and started to read.

First of all, I loved the fact that I wasn’t sitting in a hard chair and that my dog Rudy was curled into my side. If he had been born a cat, I’m sure he would have been purring but since unfortunately he is of the canine persuasion, he was thumping me quite enthusiastically with his tail. Across the room, another family member was sitting working quietly and I thought it would be a peaceful place to read. I could never have been more wrong. About five minutes into my reading session, I began to hear huffs and frustrated sighs that quickly gave way to annoyed comments and then a full on hissy fit. Apparently someone was having serious computer issues.  I was thoroughly distracted and then highly amused but eventually I made it back into my book.

Covenant Child is the story of twin girls who lose their mother long before they have a chance to get to know her. Their father raises them on his own until they are three when he meets Amanda, who he promptly falls in love with and marries very quickly. They have the seemingly perfect life together until tragedy strikes again and throws the girls into the arms of uncaring, money-hungry relatives that care about nothing other than their money, having no memory of the family they left behind.

While this isn’t the next Anna Karenina or even the next Annie, this book had a certain charm to it. The plot was somewhat familiar, having read my fair share of Christian fiction with this theme before but in some ways it still felt fresh. I loved the author’s parallel with the girls to the tale of the Prodigal Son. I found it interesting to have Amanda painted as the patient father figure, waiting patiently. The story was different in one way that I hadn’t seen in quite some time. The truth of a life outside the church was more realistic than most books of this genre. The characters actually suffered through some things and made choices that typically aren’t seen in Christian literature ever. I found the convenient wealth a little bit contrived but it worked for the story and so it was tolerable.

Honestly I thought that while the book was generally a good read, there were a few things I would have changed if I had been in the writer’s shoes. The title to begin with. I found the writing style of the author to be a bit inconsistent. Sometimes it was deep and thought provoking but other times when I felt like it should have been, the writing was simplistic and not effectively rendered. There were so many places I was wanted to get more angst or get a better sense of what these girls were going through and it just wasn’t there! It concerns me that an author with some many published works would have such an inconsistent writing style. While this was a fun read, I’m glad that it was one I got for free.

Final Rating:

Get it free

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: BookSneeze provided me with an advanced reader copy of this book.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, Review

Leave a Reply

