Book Review: The Mark in a way I had never envisioned it before..

Book: Swipe

Author: Evan Angler

Recommendation: Definitely! What a gripping read. I’m still thinking this one over!

I got this book from book sneeze as an advanced reader copy and I am so glad this was the next one that I picked out! I was very intrigued. By the cover and the title, I already knew what subject this book was going into and was interesting to see this done as teen fiction.

Swipe is a post-apocalyptic dystopian society where everyone comes of age at thirteen. At this point, you must Pledge your allegiance to your country and receive the Mark, a fancy piece of nanotechnology that allows you to do everything from shopping to holding a job. The only problem is that without it, you have nothing. There is virtually no choice. However, the Pledge and being Marked doesn’t always go as planned. What happens to the ones who fail?

This piece is obviously one authors attempt at looking how we might make it to all the prophecy from the book of Revelation. Right now the idea of going from a nation where we are mostly free (although those freedoms seem to be shrinking on a daily basis) to a society where there is only one religion, everyone is Marked and the world is headed to a one world government could happen. It is actually frighteningly simple and not as implausible as we might think.

I loved the great story telling. The author doesn’t wast time or over simplify the events of the book too much while still aiming at his target audience. I found the main character Logan, very interesting and having some depth that I would not have expected. It had a strength of character reminiscent of the hunger games while maintaining a close tie to how a scared and confused teenager would actually react to the situations Logan is faced with. I found the secondary characters interesting to read and the conflict varied and less predictable that most pieces of teen fiction that I have read lately.

If I had to come up with some negative, it would be that I wanted the story to go deeper into the issues that were touched on in the book. I think that the author missed some fantastic chances to share his beliefs with the target audience and yet he seemed to shy away from it for some reason that I couldn’t figure out. I hope that in the next book, he really dives into the reasons behind everything going on and why it is such a horrible idea. I am very interested to see how far the author plans to go with this whole story idea as well. This could be a huge extended series or just a few books depending on the scope the author chooses. I think that the only reason I find the lack of depth somewhat permissible in this book is because I’m hoping he goes more into depth on the next one.

This one is definitely worth picking up. I don’t think I’ll be giving this one away and will be waiting with bated breath for the next one.

Final Rating:

Need more than one copy!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's book review, Christian, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, Teen Book review

Leave a Reply

