Another book about Bean

Author: Orson Scott Card
Book: Shadows in Flight
Recommend: If you’ve read the series…

This book is the 5th book in the Shadow series a companion series to Card’s Ender series which begins with his most famous book, Ender’s Game. The story is about a group of children who are forced into military service and spend their time playing war games. These children will eventually be the salvation of the human race.

I was so excited to see that he had FINALLY come out with the next book in the Shadow series. I thought that he was going to have to follow Bean into space with his children that had inherited his genetic manipulation.

At first, I wasn’t sure how much I was going to like the book. Bean’s three children were almost too inhuman to be appealing but after a few pages, you started to understand their motivators and it becomes a very enjoyable read.

I don’t want to say too much about the plot because it would spoil it for everyone who is an Ender fan, but let’s just say that Ender doesn’t have the whole story. I can’t wait to read more. I hope that Card takes this further and follows this for at least another book because I want to know what happens to his children. I have a sneaking suspicion that they show up in Ender’s world again.

If you haven’t read any of the Ender series of books, I would recommend starting with the Ender Wiggin series and then moving to the shadow series. It is well worth the time,

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

