The Passage

Book: The Passage

Author: Justin Cronin

Recommend? Definitely! This book was a very interesting read.

I picked this book up for my nook after a friend from church recommended it to me a few months ago, saying that it was rather intense. I was looking forward to something new and exciting to read. From what the description discussed it seemed like it would be something very fast paced and with a subject like  post-apocalyptic vampires, I was ready to read.

When I got into the book, it was not at all what I had expected. Yes there are vampires, but it is more about a little girl who changes the world.  This book is all about characters in a style reminiscent of Orson Scott Card’s Speaker for the Dead, the second book in the Ender series. This epic journey spans over 100 years and involves a wide cast of very different people.

I can’t say too much without giving the story away but it is definitely a great surprise to read.The only warning I would give is not to expect something like Twilight or the Sookie Stackhouse books because this book is definitely not those. I would relate this to something more like I am Legend or many zombie stories I have read.

The only negative I would have to say about this book is the way it is talked about. It sets you up to expect something very different than what it really is. If you are a teen reader, this book might not be something you are interested in. However, if you like books with in depth characters and deep emotional connection, this book is something you will enjoy.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under general fiction, mature themes and subject matter, Review, Sci-Fi/ Fantasy, thriller/horror

Leave a Reply

