Rereading

I know that lately I haven’t put out any new book reviews. I have been in the middle of a major move and a major reread. I just worked my way back through the Terry Goodkind Sword of Truth Series. After m7y last few disappointing reads, I wanted something that I was guaranteed to enjoy thoroughly.

I began to wonder why it is that so many people don’t find rereading appealing. For me, it’s like meeting with an old friend that you haven’t seen in a while. You know that you are going to enjoy the familiar old jokes and rehash all the incidents that bonded you in friendship in the beginning. Those events are significant to your friendship and make you feel safe and secure. Rereading a book is much like this. As you begin, the familiar words hit you and you know that you are headed back into a world that you love. You know where it is going and in a way can enjoy it even more, knowing that the character will grow and eventually everything will turn out alright in the end.

While many things I read are not worth the time past the first journey, there are others that make you want to go back and pour over their pages over and over, an escape from the real world and a way to learn something new about your favorite characters.

I hope to start reading something new soon but for now I’ll enjoy living in familiar worlds just a little longer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Worm Rant

Leave a Reply

