Reflection on Wilder and my grandmother

Book: Little House in the Ozarks

Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder

Recommend: I think I’m way too emotional about this one to say one way or another..

Okay, this book belonged to my grandmother and when she died, my mom brought it home for me. I had opened it up many times trying to read it but found that it was just too hard. It made me think of her and I usually ended up in tears. Right after I opened it and balanced it on the edge of the desk in front of me, I accidentally dropped it. Out of it fell a picture of my grandmother and my cousin Sarah taken only a couple of months before her death. I remember that day vividly. We were out on a boat enjoying the lake my grandfather took us to. Well, most of us were enjoying the lake. I was trying to forget the fact that there were fish in the water underneath me and was thankful that we were just going for a ride and not fishing. (At that point my fish phobia was far worse). I got distracted for a bit but eventually I made it back to the book.

The book is a collection of the writings of Laura Ingalls Wilder about the life of a farmer’s wife. I found it to be a very introspective read. Many of the things she brings up are not things that we consider in our modern society but that maybe we should. I was amused to see that they had some of the same issues then that still persist today. I was surprised to hear some of her conclusions and how relevant they were to our lives today. I was compelled to re-examine some things in my own life. It truly made me think deeply in some places. This book surprised me. She really understood the core of what was important in life and how to live with joy and be responsible.

I grew up on the stories of Laura Ingalls Wilder and her childhood. My Aunt Debbie originally introduced me to through the TV show and I was soon borrowing the books anywhere I could get them. Looking back at her life as an adult gives the stories that I know so well I whole new dimension and richness that I had never realized before.

While I think this would be a great read for anyone, I am not sure that it is the best book to read cover to cover. I am already planning on going through it in smaller chunks to more fully digest what she had to say. While I never will be a farmer’s wife (thank goodness!), quite a bit of what she had to say held great truth that anyone could learn from if they listened.

Final Rating:

Get it new!

Buy it new 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian, non fiction, Review, Summer book challenge

Leave a Reply

